Day 2 (or the Official Day 1)

Got up, dressed and went downstairs to register for the conference. Received the usual goody bag filled with five books and conference booklet plus my volunteer assignments and name badge/RWA conference pin. Also got a nifty thumb drive donated by Harlequin that contains all the handouts. Then I went to the espresso bar and took out a loan to buy a medium vanilla latte and Danish. It’s freaking expensive here! Only after I did this did I find out there’s a McDonalds down the street.

Then it was off to the all day Leadership Retreat where I learned far too much to put down here. Of note, I’m grateful to discover that we are doing just fine as a chapter with regard to how we do things. A few things will need to be tweaked (mostly around Website) but overall, I’m pretty proud of our group. I did pick up some terrific ideas from our sister chapters I think will benefit our members. This was a business meeting so there’s little here that I think would interest most of the members except the end results which is why I’m not putting them down here. I will, however, be sharing officially within RCRW.

After the Leadership retreat (ended about 3:30), I went off to my appointment with the agent. While I waited for her, I met up with two chapter members and hobbed nobbed with agent Kevan Lyon who I also met in Emerald City. She actually remembered me! Didn’t remember my name (perfectly fine) but definitely remembered meeting me. She was a gracious today as she was when I spoke with her previously. I asked her if she’d met Jenn Schober before (the agent I was waiting for) and she hadn’t but asked me if I knew Victoria Curren (which I hadn’t). After a short while, we both hooked up with our respective appointments. J  Meeting with Jenn Schober was as wonderful as I’d hoped. While we didn’t have a lot of time, I definitely received benefit. Besides, she’s a very nice and knowledge person.

After that, I had dinner with some friends I met in Emerald City (love fellow writers!) then went over to check out the Book Sale. And now, I’m here, sharing my day with you.

This hasn’t probably been exciting but since the “official” conference starts tomorrow, I’m sure I’ll have more to share.

What’s on board for tomorrow, Thursday?  Well, I’ll be attending the AGM, being a volunteer, attending the PRO Retreat and some workshops. I hope you’ll come back. I’m supposed to have the connection fixed tomorrow but at any rate, I’ll post as promised by visiting Business Services.

Talk to you then!

5 thoughts on “Day 2 (or the Official Day 1)

  1. Go RCRW! Glad to now we’re on the right path. Thanks for the updates and I can’t wait to hear more!

    P.S. – Glad your ride on DC mass transit didn’t cause any lasting damage. Scary!

  2. It is so wonderful to have these little bites of your trip helping make us all feel a part of the excitement. I agree about not wanting to drive in that area! What a nightmare!
    I’ll keep fingers crossed that your internet connection gets fixed.
    I’d tell you to have fun but I suspect you don’t need to be told.
    🙂

    Laurel Newberry
    RCRW

  3. Hi there. I just wanted to stop by to say that as a fellow author of myth and magic (I write for Silhouette Nocturne) and a client of Jenn Schober’s, that I really appreciated your summaries of the convention and I wish you much success.

    • Hi Stephanie!

      Thanks for stopping by! And thanks for the words of encouragement. I’m working hard to get Jenn as my agent. 😀 Come by again – I plan to have more about what I learned. It was a lot so I figure I have plenty of blog potential here.

      Now I need to go find your books. 😀

Leave a Reply

