Sigh. Still no in-room internet.

Today, I pretty much spent all day at the agent/editor appointment area schmoozing, meeting agents/editors and having a lot of fun. Boy, did I have fun!

My primary role was as a volunteer and in that role; I was time-keeper and whip-cracker. 🙂 Actually, I got to, very gently and kindly; help remind people when their 10 minutes were up. There were no group appointments – all were 10 minute one-on-one appointments. I’ll have to take my cell phone and take pictures of the set-up. At first, I thought it might be intimidating for those pitching but it seemed to work out just fine. Hard to explain. When I get back, I’ll post a picture and let you all see.

While I was there to help, I also got to chat with several of the agents/editors I’ve met before (it was great! Many remembered me if not by name but by appearance (I think it was the red hair J). And even though I hadn’t planned to pitch, I actually had some chances to and got four requests for partials! All of them had been on my list to query so this was perfect.  I mainly focused on agents but did meet several editors – Rose Hilliard (St. Martins), Faith Black (Avalon) Deb Werksman (Sourcebooks), a bunch of wonderful Harlequin editors and more.

Everyone was so warm and friendly; easy to talk to and generous with their time.

I wish I could say I thought about my terrific chapter-mates at this time, but I didn’t. Except to wish you were all here.  I’m afraid this day was all about me. 🙂 Sorry gang! I do hope I’ll be able to get some coherent thoughts to share with you when I get back about things I learned today. The main thing I can tell you, is given the opportunity, volunteer at the agent/editor appointments. It’s an invaluable time to not only give back, but to take away so much.

But don’t take MY spot! 🙂

P.S. Wait! I did do something today. I have an agent lined up for the mini-conference I’m chomping to do and she gave me a great editor potential who is “hungry” for new talent as the agent put it.  So, I need to get cracking on getting a team together to get this thing going for next March. Woo hoo!

3 thoughts on “

  1. Thanks for the update! It was torture to miss the conference, even though Su & I were down in So. Oregon, getting together with friends we rarely see. I’m looking forward to hearing all about what you learned soon!xoxo.

Leave a Reply

