What’s Going On?

It’s been a while since I posted (has it really been over a month since Nationals?) so I thought I’d post about a new publishing venture for another of my stories.

I have a new publishing house, Lyrical Press. I’m still with Samhain for my Relic Defender series (and maybe more?); however, I found Lyrical Press and am publishing my futuristic romance, Hit Me With Your Best Shot, with them. This is a book I published in 2007 with New Concepts Publishing but was too new, green and wet behind the ears, that I never really did anything with the book or New Concepts. It wasn’t because of anything they did/didn’t do. In 2007, a mere 4 years ago, I just wasn’t involved with social media and promotion was a dirty word. All that’s changed.

So, I got the rights back and Lyrical is republishing it next March. So far, they are keeping the same title but I get a new cover by one of the owners, Renee Rucco. For her covers alone, you’ve got to go check out the site. She’s does phenomenal work. I’m a total fan girl. The pictured cover is one done by Tanith Dean of Tanithtopia and I love this cover but this isn’t the one I’ll be using. That’s not to say I won’t use it – just not for this story. She does lovely work so a plug for her; check her out. I just had to show this – you’ll get the idea of the story from the cover.

Anyway, I’ve been working with a terrific editor (boy, have I been lucky with both my Samhain and Lyrical editors!) and recently had the chance to update this story. Thank God! Seriously! Who’d have known I was a fan of words I didn’t need and yeah, telling not showing, um, that was an issue in the first part of the book. I’m so grateful I got to go through first and clean that up. It was also fun to revisit the story and to think about what I would like to do with a follow-up story.

So, that’s some recent news. I’ll post when I get a release date and, of course, when I get a cover.

2 thoughts on “What’s Going On?

  1. You’ll find your way in this social media craze. Storytellers have become devalued but that will change as the social media of your choice gives you the opportunity to connect with readers.

    “Promotion” is not a dirty word when it has the flavor of connection. Everyone wants a good story – only a story teller makes that possible.

Leave a Reply

